Halo 2 Forum > Off-topic > General Gaming > Hardware & Software
 
 
Display Modes Thread Tools
Gage
VIP just not in the group
Gage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,607
Subtract from Gage's ReputationAdd to Gage's Reputation Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000
#1
12-13-2009
Default How does this sound?

AT&T just offered us something that sounds down right amazing. I wanted many more opinions, though.

Basically:
Right up the street from us, the Police Department has a Fiber Optic line directly to them, supplied by AT&T. From that Fiber Optic, there is a copper line going down my road and to my house for our 6Mb/s DSL.
Now, they offered us a T1 connection with free installation and support for ~$359.99 a month. However, they told us that the connection speed would not be capped, nor would the bandwidth. So, the only 2 limitations to how fast I could download a file from the internet would be, 1.) The speed of the server I was downloading from, and, 2.) How fast my hard drive could write a file to itself. -- The bandwidth would be unlimited.

We told them that up front, that's going to be a WHOLE LOT of money spent on just internet monthly. The technicians then said that we could get a 2TB server or so and then after going onto speedtest/speakeasy and getting my connection speed of my server shown, then we could sell space to YouTube for ~$500/month (easily, he said) to cover the costs of our internet, along with making a little. He said with basically infinite upload/download speed and unlimited bandwidth, YouTube would jump on top of buying space from us.

So, what should I do guys?

(Also, he mentioned if YouTube wouldn't, porn sites would. rofl.)

Last edited by Gage; 12-13-2009 at 08:43 PM.
Useful Idiot
I know you want this body
Useful Idiot's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12,357
Subtract from Useful Idiot's ReputationAdd to Useful Idiot's Reputation Useful Idiot still downloads from Mythica Useful Idiot still downloads from Mythica Useful Idiot still downloads from Mythica Useful Idiot still downloads from Mythica Useful Idiot still downloads from Mythica Useful Idiot still downloads from Mythica
#2
12-13-2009
Default

wat

'00 Electric Green GT:
SCT X3 Flashed, BBK CAI, BBK Headers, O/R X Pipe, Cat Delete, MagnaPacks, T-45 Trans, Ford Racing 4.10s, Eibach Sportline Springs, Black 18" Saleen Wheels, 275/35 NT555s, Xentec HIDs
Build List:
Slotted Brembos w/ Hawk HPS Pads & SS Lines
The Colostomizer
REP FOR THE REP GOD
The Colostomizer's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 290,211
Subtract from The Colostomizer's ReputationAdd to The Colostomizer's Reputation The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000
#3
12-13-2009
Default

how is babby formed
Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#4
12-13-2009
Default

Bandwidth would be capped, Because it's a t1 line, nothing is "infinite" in the internet world besides a person's gullibility.

I wouldn't do it.

The Colostomizer
REP FOR THE REP GOD
The Colostomizer's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 290,211
Subtract from The Colostomizer's ReputationAdd to The Colostomizer's Reputation The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000 The Colostomizer IS OVER 9000
#5
12-13-2009
Default

T1 is about 1.5 Mbit/s up and down, considerably slower than your supposed 6 Mbit/s DSL. Also, if the "fiber optic" you're referring to is an exchange, and you're just right down the street from it, I'd be surprised if you were only supposed to be getting 6 Mbit/s. Which tells me you're not actually that close to an exchange.

Anyway, the numbers from your speed test line up pretty well with what you should expect. How old are you? Who is this technician? Did he smell like cabbage?
Scott
uber n00b (level 2)
Scott's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: England
Posts: 24,763
Subtract from Scott's ReputationAdd to Scott's Reputation Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided
Send a message via AIM to Scott
#6
12-13-2009
Default

You're getting the correct speed from your DSL service. Taking into account that speedtests are always inaccurate by at least 1MB/sec then you're definitely getting what you pay for. But anyway, I wouldn't do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Colostomizer View Post
How old are you? Who is this technician? Did he smell like cabbage?
LOL
Gage
VIP just not in the group
Gage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,607
Subtract from Gage's ReputationAdd to Gage's Reputation Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000
#7
12-13-2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Colostomizer View Post
T1 is about 1.5 Mbit/s up and down, considerably slower than your supposed 6 Mbit/s DSL. Also, if the "fiber optic" you're referring to is an exchange, and you're just right down the street from it, I'd be surprised if you were only supposed to be getting 6 Mbit/s. Which tells me you're not actually that close to an exchange.

Anyway, the numbers from your speed test line up pretty well with what you should expect. How old are you? Who is this technician? Did he smell like cabbage?
I'm only 17.
He works for Bellsouth/AT&T... I don't know him.
No, he didn't.

I'm not sure what he meant, but I'm going to bed now. I do, though, specifically remember him saying that the only 2 limits to my download speed would be what's inside my computer and the server I was downloading from.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott View Post
You're getting the correct speed from your DSL service. Taking into account that speedtests are always inaccurate by at least 1MB/sec then you're definitely getting what you pay for. But anyway, I wouldn't do it.
I know I'm getting the correct speed, I just want something faster. :/
Thanks for the replies, though, guys.
Scott
uber n00b (level 2)
Scott's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: England
Posts: 24,763
Subtract from Scott's ReputationAdd to Scott's Reputation Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided Scott is bustin' chills and getting paided
Send a message via AIM to Scott
#8
12-13-2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S1CK L1K3 A PR0 View Post
I'm only 17.
He works for Bellsouth/AT&T... I don't know him.
No, he didn't.

I'm not sure what he meant, but I'm going to bed now. I do, though, specifically remember him saying that the only 2 limits to my download speed would be what's inside my computer and the server I was downloading from.
That's stupid. If that was the case then you could get 80MB/sec from usenet provided you have a SATA hard drive. Trust me when I say that isn't possible on a T1 line. Like Colosto said, you'd get 1.5MB/sec which isn't very fast.
Slovix
Level 31
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,132
Subtract from Slovix's ReputationAdd to Slovix's Reputation Slovix is a novice
Send a message via Skype™ to Slovix
#9
12-13-2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Colostomizer View Post
T1 is about 1.5 Mbit/s up and down, considerably slower than your supposed 6 Mbit/s DSL. Also, if the "fiber optic" you're referring to is an exchange, and you're just right down the street from it, I'd be surprised if you were only supposed to be getting 6 Mbit/s. Which tells me you're not actually that close to an exchange.

Anyway, the numbers from your speed test line up pretty well with what you should expect. How old are you? Who is this technician? Did he smell like cabbage?
wat
Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#10
12-13-2009
Default

They may not cap it, but the infastructure of t1 will.

Keep in mine, we've had t1 for like 20 years I think. It's based on phone systems. DSL is different.

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off