Halo 2 Forum > Off-topic > General Gaming > Hardware & Software
 
 
Display Modes Thread Tools
Tyler
wut
Tyler's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,100
Subtract from Tyler's ReputationAdd to Tyler's Reputation Tyler needs more help than Japan
#1
12-05-2009
Default Good Deal?

At my work, we get donated computers and we fix them and sell.

We got in this:

1.8GHz Dual Core
2GB dual channel ram
250GB Sata HDD
256MB Nvidia 8800GT

I'm taking it at a mere $120. Good deal?

UPDATE:

My buddy offered me his for the same price.

2.2 GHz Quad Core (AMD Phenom)
500GB HD
256MB Radeon HD 2400XT (sp?)
3GB Ram
Vista Home Premium (I'm removing and installing either XP or 7)


Last edited by Tyler; 12-15-2009 at 08:08 AM.
JustMarioBros
i r baby jesus
JustMarioBros's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: [.::H2F SELECT::.]
Posts: 8,626
Subtract from JustMarioBros's ReputationAdd to JustMarioBros's Reputation JustMarioBros is a novice
#2
12-05-2009
Default

If you want it for web browsing, sure.
Tyler
wut
Tyler's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,100
Subtract from Tyler's ReputationAdd to Tyler's Reputation Tyler needs more help than Japan
#3
12-05-2009
Default

I don't play a lot of PC games. But I want something faster then a shitty Dell.

Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#4
12-05-2009
Default

8800GT will game fine.

KrazyMonkey88
Level 48
KrazyMonkey88's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kentucky.
Posts: 7,123
Subtract from KrazyMonkey88's ReputationAdd to KrazyMonkey88's Reputation KrazyMonkey88 is a novice
Send a message via AIM to KrazyMonkey88 Send a message via MSN to KrazyMonkey88 Send a message via Yahoo to KrazyMonkey88 Send a message via Skype™ to KrazyMonkey88
#5
12-05-2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMarioBros View Post
If you want it for web browsing, sure.
Are you serious? That comp will probably handle most games good enough. Not max FPS or anything on high settings, but it should handle most games on the market.


freak
#1 butt eater™
freak's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15,606
Subtract from freak's ReputationAdd to freak's Reputation freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000 freak IS OVER 9000
#6
12-05-2009
Default

You can always upgrade it and it will still be cheaper than buying a new one, I'd say go for it.
JustMarioBros
i r baby jesus
JustMarioBros's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: [.::H2F SELECT::.]
Posts: 8,626
Subtract from JustMarioBros's ReputationAdd to JustMarioBros's Reputation JustMarioBros is a novice
#7
12-05-2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyMonkey88 View Post
Are you serious? That comp will probably handle most games good enough. Not max FPS or anything on high settings, but it should handle most games on the market.
I never said it wouldn't play games. For the price and performance, I'm sure he's not buying it for gaming, thus I suggested it to be a good deal for web browsing.
Winning
cum on stehp it up!
Winning's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chi-town
Posts: 11,439
Subtract from Winning's ReputationAdd to Winning's Reputation Winning is bustin' chills and getting paided Winning is bustin' chills and getting paided Winning is bustin' chills and getting paided Winning is bustin' chills and getting paided Winning is bustin' chills and getting paided Winning is bustin' chills and getting paided
Send a message via MSN to Winning Send a message via Yahoo to Winning Send a message via Skype™ to Winning
#8
12-05-2009
Default

For $120? Hell, you could make like $400 selling this on Ebay or Craigslist.
Al's sweet ass


Al
EXPECTO PATRONUM
Al's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: sionillI Illinois
Posts: 23,307
Subtract from Al's ReputationAdd to Al's Reputation Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000 Al IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Al
#9
12-05-2009
Default

256mb of Vram could be a problem.



PackieIX
Empathy Overload
PackieIX's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: down under
Posts: 17,051
Subtract from PackieIX's ReputationAdd to PackieIX's Reputation PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000 PackieIX IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to PackieIX
#10
12-05-2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Al 15 View Post
256mb of Vram could be a problem.

this.
the rest looks good.


+ processor is a little slow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by davobrosia View Post

Edit: No penises. Not even clipart versions.
- Nv1




 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off