Halo 2 Forum > Off-topic > General Gaming > Hardware & Software
 
 
Display Modes Thread Tools
Gage
VIP just not in the group
Gage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,607
Subtract from Gage's ReputationAdd to Gage's Reputation Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000
#1
08-18-2014
Default My monitor looks like shit

It's an ASUS VX228H and I'm using VGA @ 1080p. The only other option is using HDMI which makes it look worse.

Everything is washed out and text looks absolutely terrible.
Gaming, however, is more beautiful than I've ever seen it.

Someone please help me find the settings to fix this.
JoshNgton
THF VIP Member
JoshNgton's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,585
Subtract from JoshNgton's ReputationAdd to JoshNgton's Reputation JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000 JoshNgton IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to JoshNgton
#2
08-18-2014
Default

you could rent a spyder calibrator or buy one for 100
Its PJ Bia
NFG bud.
Its PJ Bia's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,679
Subtract from Its PJ Bia's ReputationAdd to Its PJ Bia's Reputation Its PJ Bia still downloads from Mythica Its PJ Bia still downloads from Mythica Its PJ Bia still downloads from Mythica Its PJ Bia still downloads from Mythica Its PJ Bia still downloads from Mythica Its PJ Bia still downloads from Mythica
Send a message via AIM to Its PJ Bia
#3
08-19-2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage View Post
It's an ASUS VX228H and I'm using VGA @ 1080p. The only other option is using HDMI which makes it look worse.

Everything is washed out and text looks absolutely terrible.
Gaming, however, is more beautiful than I've ever seen it.

Someone please help me find the settings to fix this.
You could try the built in windows 7 calibration tool to see if it helps any.
Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#4
08-19-2014
Default

Are you using the right mode? Reset the monitor settings and switch to standard.

Alen
Level 28
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,103
Subtract from Alen's ReputationAdd to Alen's Reputation Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000 Alen IS OVER 9000
#5
08-19-2014
Default

I use these settings on my ASUS VG248QE monitor:

Mode: Standard
Brightness: 60
Contrast: 80
Color Temp: User mode - R: 96 / G: 94 / B: 88
Gage
VIP just not in the group
Gage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,607
Subtract from Gage's ReputationAdd to Gage's Reputation Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000
#6
08-19-2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crest View Post
Are you using the right mode? Reset the monitor settings and switch to standard.
I did that, still the same. I think I was using standard to begin with, but I tried it anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alen View Post
I use these settings on my ASUS VG248QE monitor:

Mode: Standard
Brightness: 60
Contrast: 80
Color Temp: User mode - R: 96 / G: 94 / B: 88
I tried that and it looks a little better, but it's like every image I see seems as if it's an ultra-low-quality JPEG.

Like think taking a picture, opening it in old MS Paint and saving it as a JPEG. It KILLS the quality, makes it like 8.0KB and it looks like there are little dots everywhere.

That's what everything looks like.
phil.
//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\
phil.'s Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX.
Posts: 6,557
Subtract from phil.'s ReputationAdd to phil.'s Reputation phil. is osageballin' phil. is osageballin' phil. is osageballin' phil. is osageballin' phil. is osageballin' phil. is osageballin' phil. is osageballin'
#7
08-19-2014
Default

thats what happens when i hook up my monitor to my laptop through hdmi, while vga from 360 looks fine. curious also

Don't buy H5






Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#8
08-19-2014
Default

Can you take a picture of the monitor screen so we can see?

Gage
VIP just not in the group
Gage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 7,607
Subtract from Gage's ReputationAdd to Gage's Reputation Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000 Gage IS OVER 9000
#9
08-19-2014
Default

Yeah, it'll have to be tomorrow, though.
Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#10
09-06-2014
Default

Tomorrow.

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off