Halo 2 Forum > Off-topic > General Gaming > Hardware & Software
 
 
Display Modes Thread Tools
crucifix
wsup den
crucifix's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 5,783
Subtract from crucifix's ReputationAdd to crucifix's Reputation crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000
#1
03-14-2011
Default male rca cables to male mic cable?

is there such a thing? if so I need one.
reow
Spoiler!

Last edited by crucifix; 03-14-2011 at 07:14 PM.
RVideo
Ask Z for $50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34,969
Subtract from RVideo's ReputationAdd to RVideo's Reputation RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000
#2
03-14-2011
Default

define "mic cable". 1/4" male, 1/8" male, XLR

also - mono or stereo
crucifix
wsup den
crucifix's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 5,783
Subtract from crucifix's ReputationAdd to crucifix's Reputation crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000
#3
03-14-2011
Default

1/8 male and stereo
reow
Spoiler!
RVideo
Ask Z for $50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34,969
Subtract from RVideo's ReputationAdd to RVideo's Reputation RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000
#4
03-15-2011
Default

Dont expect great performance using this connection. RCA jacks are supposed to be used with "line level" signals. You are probably going to hear a bit of buzzing since this connection does not have the proper shielding for a mic level (ie very low voltage) signal.

http://cgi.ebay.com/10-Twin-RCA-Male...item3a59ea6e44
crucifix
wsup den
crucifix's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 5,783
Subtract from crucifix's ReputationAdd to crucifix's Reputation crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000
#5
03-15-2011
Default

Yeah it seems like the exact one I have and its doing exactly what you said It would with all of the static and whatnot.

This whole setup I'm about to explain is for me broadcasting on Justin.tv (a live streaming website)
The rca cables were before put into my mixer as a source of my computers sounds and everything from the mixer would be put outputted into my dazzle dvc 100. This was when I had XP and I recently upgraded to win7 and pinnacle is not planning to fix the audio drivers of the hardware for win7. I Initially thought this would be acceptable as a microphone by switching around sh.t and plugging in my cable (the one we are talking about) as an output for my mixer. But it likes to have additional white noise and fuzzy sh.t when I change the volume of the mixer. If I turn the mixer up the just a little to high, it is extremely loud and frankly annoying. So I'm forced to find that sweet spot and pray there won't be an abundance of white noise.

Heres an example (video) of a sweet spot yet its very low volume and it was from a plantronics headset usb:


http://www.justin.tv/crucifixxx/b/279487802

That method was working alright until the almost split in half usb, split in half.

So now I'm in a bigger dillema because when I try to do what I said in the first paragraph, the computer will read it as a source for like 15 min and then It will just act like its disconnected.

If you need me to take pics of my set up before and after the upgrade to clear up the confusion I will.
reow
Spoiler!
RVideo
Ask Z for $50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34,969
Subtract from RVideo's ReputationAdd to RVideo's Reputation RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000 RVideo IS OVER 9000
#6
03-16-2011
Default

ok a few things, and yeah Im going to itemize again

(A) stop using the DC 100. Seriously, just throw it away or sell it on Ebay or CL. The DC 100 is widely considered obsolete. The DVC 100 uses a system dependent MPEG2 transcoding process that FME does not handle well. At all.
(B) Pick up a USB video capture device. They are about $20 including shipping. Example (this is what I use for JTV) http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWNX:IT
(C) Use "line in" for any and all audio inputs for FME. Always. The "line in" is the blue 3.5mm plug right next to the green "line out" that you use for speakers. The only exception to this is if you use a Hauppage 1212 or similar HD capture device.

(D) If you need addtional audio inputs, consider using a real mixer, like a Gemini PMX Series. You can find older PMX mixers for virtually nothing on Ebay. The Gemini Series has a very low noise floor, very easy to use and great fidelity, and they are TOUGH. I personally use a PMX-03 that I bought from a DJ whose club (or bar) went out of business for $45.
Basically, any mixer with two inputs AND a mic input (make sure it's 1/4" unless you want to use XLR mics). I just randomly found this old mixer that looks like it's in good shape.
Note that this mixer *new* went for about $250 or so.

With the up-to-date USB capture device with post-2010 drivers and a good solid tough (and professional) mixer you will have a sick setup for casting.

Again, the Dazzle had it's day, like 6 years ago. It is easily out-performed by more modern USB capture devices that cost 1/5th as much as the Dazzle retailed for, back in the day.

Example of the above, I was just goofing around talking to friends and playing Fallout on a late night cast recently (at only 550 kbps up!) If you can sustain >1 mbps up (1000 kbps) then you are going to have about as good an SD cast can possibly get on jtv.

Last edited by RVideo; 03-16-2011 at 01:15 AM.
Crest
Premium H3F Subscriber
Crest's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In my Batcave...
Posts: 38,214
Subtract from Crest's ReputationAdd to Crest's Reputation Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000 Crest IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to Crest Send a message via Skype™ to Crest
#7
03-16-2011
Default

Those are some great tips Rvideo. I had bought a ATI TV wonder last year from woot for 25bucks I think. Used it for HDTV and some basic recording. I'd like to get a mixer and an XLR mic for good casting and control.

crucifix
wsup den
crucifix's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 5,783
Subtract from crucifix's ReputationAdd to crucifix's Reputation crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000 crucifix IS OVER 9000
#8
03-16-2011
Default

Thanks much RVideo! Will buy a new mixer when I got the money even though I finally got this working well. Its like 15 years old anyways.

And yeah I'll buy that USB capture eventually. I can prolly sell off my dazzle to a friend and buy it with the money I get from that.
reow
Spoiler!
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off