Halo 2 Forum > Off-topic > Debate Forum > Religion Debate

Display Modes Thread Tools
BiShoP
Killing Kittens for Fun
Subtract from BiShoP's ReputationAdd to BiShoP's Reputation BiShoP is a novice
Send a message via AIM to BiShoP
03-30-2009
Default Really no other place for this...

I recognize that this is not in regards to a particular religious debate or anything of that nature, however I always head to this section first when I come onto this forum, and I've always considered it a home to me.

Let me give you a brief update of my life over the past few months:

In December, I graduated Magna Cum Laude from Houghton College with two degrees: One in Adolescence Education, the other in Mathematics. I've always loved mathematics: I would consider it one of the passions of my life... Whenever I'm feeling down and out, or I just need to vent, I usually take time to work on some math because it makes me focus on something other than what I'm thinking about...

In any case, I've applied to five different Universities for a Ph.D program in Mathematics, however I've already gotten 2 rejection letters, and I'm assuming the other 3 will also be rejection letters, simply because the economy is horrible and teaching assistantships that existed last year no longer exist. Most Universities accept students on the basis of how many assistantships they have, which stinks...

At this point, I'm going to probably get my Master's degree first and foremost before moving on to a Ph.D. My odds of getting in are going to be far greater with a Master's degree as opposed to a Bachelor's.

During my time as a senior, I wrote a paper entitled "Non-Negativity of the Gamma Vector for Three Dimensional Polytopes." I have a download link available if you'd like to take a peek at what I did in it: There's a lot of cool pictures!

http://freepdfhosting.com/39e7a7d05e.pdf