Halo 2 Forum > Off-topic > General Gaming > Hardware & Software
 
 
Display Modes Thread Tools
lolxz
Level 12
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Subtract from lolxz's ReputationAdd to lolxz's Reputation lolxz is a novice
#1
12-18-2012
Default Do I need an HDMI Cable?

I'm going to purchase this monitor next paycheck.

Asus 23" Widescreen LCD
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Asus+-+2...&skuId=9593932

Will I need an HDMI cable to use this monitor with my Xbox? I was reading about the TV and think people were saying the cable is needed for xbox. Please let me know so I don't order just the TV and have to end up waiting an extra week to order/wait on an hdmi cable as well.

Thanks dudes.
Shunt
Mr. Harold Finch
Shunt's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28,140
Subtract from Shunt's ReputationAdd to Shunt's Reputation Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000 Shunt IS OVER 9000
#2
12-18-2012
Default

It's not a TV and yes, you need the HDMI cable.
lolxz
Level 12
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Subtract from lolxz's ReputationAdd to lolxz's Reputation lolxz is a novice
#3
12-18-2012
Default

I was waiting for someone to tell me it wasn't a TV. Either way, thanks.
d3vo
Crème Fraîche
d3vo's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Parked on the 5 Freeway
Posts: 2,434
Subtract from d3vo's ReputationAdd to d3vo's Reputation d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000 d3vo IS OVER 9000
Send a message via AIM to d3vo
#4
12-18-2012
Default

You could also get a component to hdmi converter, but unless you need the component for say a pvr or a headset then go hdmi.
lolxz
Level 12
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Subtract from lolxz's ReputationAdd to lolxz's Reputation lolxz is a novice
#5
12-18-2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D3volv3Rr View Post
You could also get a component to hdmi converter, but unless you need the component for say a pvr or a headset then go hdmi.
I don't know a thing about component to hdmi converters. But, I have a pair of Astro A50's.. Does that make a difference in which one I would need?

/scrubtalk
Afraid
Level 35
Afraid's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: la, la la la, la la laa
Posts: 3,189
Subtract from Afraid's ReputationAdd to Afraid's Reputation Afraid is legendary Afraid is legendary Afraid is legendary
Send a message via AIM to Afraid Send a message via MSN to Afraid
#6
12-18-2012
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824236059

It's cheaper at Newegg, and you would need an HDMI cable or an xbox VGA cable

lolxz
Level 12
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Subtract from lolxz's ReputationAdd to lolxz's Reputation lolxz is a novice
#7
12-18-2012
Default

^ Thanks for the link.

I'd prefer not to have to make another thread in Tech Support, so I'll toss my other question right here in hopes of a response.

I use a USB drive to listen to music on my Xbox. Some songs that I put onto the USB drive will make it to where no songs at all will load on my Xbox until I take that specific song off the drive. Why is this? And is there anything better to use for music? besides hookin my computer up to it.
Marksman
Obedience
Marksman's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 9,916
Subtract from Marksman's ReputationAdd to Marksman's Reputation Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000 Marksman IS OVER 9000
#8
12-18-2012
Default

Get a VGA Xbox Cable, you wont regret it. Analog HD output which gives you the best and most responsive gameplay. Only downside is you need some expensive extra equipment if you want to capture while playing. If you dont have a PVR, ignore the past part and get it.







[1/2/15]









Last edited by Marksman; 12-18-2012 at 11:39 PM.
lolxz
Level 12
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Subtract from lolxz's ReputationAdd to lolxz's Reputation lolxz is a novice
#9
01-02-2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marksman View Post
Get a VGA Xbox Cable, you wont regret it. Analog HD output which gives you the best and most responsive gameplay. Only downside is you need some expensive extra equipment if you want to capture while playing. If you dont have a PVR, ignore the past part and get it.
Okay. Will this Xbox VGA Cable work just fine?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VGA-Monitor-...item2326947d64

or

http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-Microsof...item2ec400fce9

I was seeing them for like 30 bucks new, then went on ebay and saw how cheap those were... seemed too cheap. So let me know if that cable will do.

Sorry to bump this thread. But I finally have the funds saved to make the purchase when my paycheck hits the bank in the morning. So I'll be ordering right when I wake up in a few hours.
lolxz
Level 12
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Subtract from lolxz's ReputationAdd to lolxz's Reputation lolxz is a novice
#10
01-02-2013
Default

Fuck it. Paycheck hit the bank. Just ordered the monitor and this xbox vga cable (both off newegg)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA1HE0GA2240

Last edited by lolxz; 01-02-2013 at 05:35 AM.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off